Rapid Fire Review: Anne of Green Gables

I have loved Anne of Green Gables since the first time I read the simple introduction of Anne Shirley, with an E, please.
I don’t remember if I saw the PBS movie with Meagan Fallows first or read the book first. I do know that after becoming quite obsessed with the movie, my aunt purchased the entire series for me and I devoured it in the span of a couple of months.
I love Anne. I love her so much. She was talkative and curious and imaginative and that is and was very much me. So when I saw that NetGalley had a graphic novel of this beautiful story available, I quickly requested it.

Note: This review is 100% my opinion and may contain spoilers. Thanks to NetGalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing for an advanced copy of this novel. 

Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel
Adapted by Mariah Marsden
Illustrated by Brenna Thummler

Being that this is a graphic novel, let’s talk about the art, shall we? The style is line drawing and simple. Simple and beautiful. Green Gables looks as it’s described when you read the full novel. I loved the colors used for the landscape. The only thing I was a little bummed about was Anne herself.

I always imagined Anne as pretty, freckles and red-headed, but pretty. Diana was more beautiful but they were both pretty in their own right. In this graphic novel, Anne is incredibly plain and Diana isn’t much better. I wanted a little more beauty given to them. Gilbert was just as handsome as ever.

The story itself is like all of the best bits condensed into a one sitting read. I loved Mrs. Lynde, she was depicted perfectly peeking out of her windows watching Anne’s arrival to Green Gables. As I said, I really loved the way Green Gables was illustrated and Mathew and Marilla were perfection.

I audibly exclaimed “CARPET BAG” when I saw her bag. I remember being so interested in her bag when I was young and loving that it was a beautiful and somehow far too old for a 12-year-old. It also always made me thing of Mary Poppins so I was happy to see it featured in at least one pane of this adaptation.

I’m so glad that Anne’s obsession with puffed sleeves was included. She thinks of them as regal and important and far more beautiful than she deserves. It’s one of the sweetest moments in the book when Matthew goes to find a dress for Anne for Christmas and she finally gets to have her puffed sleeves.

I would love to see this continued into the Avonlea years, specifically the moments of Gilbert and Anne. In this particular novel, I would have liked a little more of the interaction Anne has with her friends but it was most certainly represented so you understood that she was loyal and loving to her people.

This is coming out on October 24, 2017 so if you have any love for Anne or want to introduce this classic to someone who may not want to read the original yet. Start them on this graphic novel.

 

Leave a Reply

