Rapid Fire Reviews: June

I have a feeling this may be my style of review. Well, atleast this time around because I have not written any reviews for the past ohhh six books I’ve completed and I don’t want to feel like I am INSANELY BEHIND ON LIFE.

Thus, rapid fire review. Let’s talk about the books I completed over the past month.

Note: These opinions are my 100% own. These reviews may include spoilers. 

Ready? GO!

 

Room by Emma Donoghue

I have this whole goal to pull things off my very, super crazy, stuffed shelves by reading books by the same author, if I have them. I completed  The Wonder and knew I had Room kicking around on my book shelf from what was supposed to be a group read years ago. I was impressed with Emma Donoghue’s writing style and wanted to get into another of her books.

I love Jack. I love him. I love him so much. He is the sweetest, most adorable, little fictional boy. I mean, I love him like I love Lucy from Narnia. The way that this particular author writes children makes you remember how it feels to be innocent and untouched. To be vulnerable and imaginative. I love Jack.

The story itself is a dark one at its base. A girl gets kidnapped and held captive for 7 years by a swarmy kind of dude who lied about a sick dog to grab her. Jack is the light. I loved that he has a kind of growth that no other charectar gets in the book.

I gave it 5 GR stars and would pick up anything by this author.

Bonus: Watched the movie (cause I do that) and I have to say- I get why people lovvvve Brie Larson and Jacob Trembley so much. MAN! They were lovely. I found the discrepancies from book to movie made parts of the story lack the same feeling they did in the book but overall a solid film.

Miracle at the Higher Grounds Café by Max Lucado with Eric Newman and Candace Lee

You know how Hallmark makes all those feel good, sometimes Christain centric, made for TV movies that you end up watching without meaning too? That’s what this is.

I was grabbing a book for Mom at my library and this super cute cover distracted me and 20 minutes later I was devouring this book. Seriously, it’s super short, it’s kind of adorable. It has a bit of an It’s a Wonderful Life vibe with the angel coming to help the struggling Momma.

The whole story gave me the warm fuzzies. Manny, Mr’ Angel come to help, is hilarious! And totally obsessed with Star Wars which made me happy. Your main charectar is Chelsea; a separated, newly single Mom. She is trying to keep a café that’s been in her family forever running. She is a baker. She is struggling and it just so happens that her sister is part of a church (married to the Pastor) and they all pray and it’s lovely. And then poof! Manny shows up and people can talk to God in her café. Yup. They can connect to God through WiFi and ask him questions directly. It’s like a newfangled prayer line.

It was an adorable read. I kind of loved it without meaning to. Super quick read.

Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

This is the one Epic Reads made me pick up and OMG was it worth it. Holy Crap! This has twists and turns and crazy drama on just about every page. It’s told through dual perspectives. So one chapter is the twin sister, Carys, and one is the twin brother, Andreyus. I swear, at some points, I don’t know which one was crazier. I mean, your dude is in love with a Seer and willing to risk everything for her. Oh and POWER HUNGRY. Your chick is some kind of medieval drug addict and a badass!

The only negative I had with this book was the sudden need to give Carys a love interest. I mean, why? Was it necessary? Did she need to have a crush annnnnnd some dude who came to be her hero? I don’t know. Despite not liking that aspect, I did love the appearance of a random hero who I’m fairly certain is evil. Or at least related to evil.

I can’t wait to grab the next one in this series. I will say, if you’re not a fan of cliffhanger endings-wait for the next book to come out before you grab this. MAN.

If that wasn’t enough reading I blew through two more books this weekend while on Dog Duty at my sister’s place.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

OMG! I get the hype! I am one with the hype! I loved this. Loved it, loved it, loved it. This is novel that is comprised of a collection of documents about a crazy event that occurred. Therefore, this isn’t your typical read. Some of it is in chat form. Some is email. Some is letters. Some is diagram or drawing. And then there is the actual dialogue moments.

The event is uhhhh well, its the future and we live on planet-ish sectors. One sector gets destroyed. Everyone jumps on a spaceship and then the spaceships start flipping out. Legit. The spaceship has an Aritficial Intelligence system and it has a bit of breakdown.

I have to say. I really liked Aidan. The fact that the AI system gets to have a voice was fun. If you’ve ever wonderied (like me) if your GPS gets mad when you don’t listen to it, this book kind of gives you the insight that Yes, SHE GETS PISSED>

It was sooooo good. Like so good. Like if you haven’t picked it up yet and you like YA Fantasy Sci-Fi reads–go! Get it! NOW! Read! and then discuss it with me because none of my real life bookish friends know what I’m talking about!

Also–already started Gemina, the sequel, and YES!

And then! Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix

This one is because I was at my sister’s and finished Illuminae and needed another book. I went and raided my niece’s book shelf and she loved these books. The book is about hidden children. The country has determined that each family can only have two children. The third children are illegal and kept hidden. And that’s where Luke comes in. I’ll say that it was written well. The concept was interesting. The first book was a good one. I could not get into the second one so I doubt I’ll continue with the series.

Oh! I forgot one.

Son by Lois Lowry

This is the fourth and final book in The Giver Quartet. Now I absolutely loved The Giver. It was such a cool read. It had intrigue and a weird society and a kidnapping and crazy deaths. It was gooooood. Then Gathering Blue was not as exciting and felt like it belonged in a different series. Messenger, book number three WAS AWFUL. Beginning to end awful.

I had decided I just wasn’t finishing this quartet after Messenger. But! An old friend assured me that Son would wrap everything up and then the two middle books would make more sense.

Well screw that. Son was not any better than the two previous books. And yes, it does let you know where that ridiculous cliff hanger at the end of The Giver ends up but! it takes a hell of a long time to get there. It’s predictable and all in all just wasn’t a good read. The caliber of The Giver does not follow through to the rest of its books.

And that! That is why I was referring to myself as a Book Dragon because I am actually ahead on my Good Reads Challenge and just really enjoying devouring books.

With that said, I’m going to go back to Gemina!

One thought on “Rapid Fire Reviews: June

Leave a Reply

