Slump?

I have been trying to read ALL week.

I mean really trying.

Like sitting down with my book in my lap for a solid hour, trying.

Somehow, I have not finished one book though.

I read about 50 pages in Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow. Then I skipped around and decided I just couldn’t read this right now. However, I really do find Chernow’s writing style to be enchanting and inviting. I believe I will actually read that entire book someday but right now, I just can’t get into it the way I’d like to.

So! I picked up the next book from my latest library haul The Petticoat Affair. I sat with that for 4 hours yesterday. I read maybe 60 pages. To be honest, the actual synopsis- a historical and factual based book about Andrew Jackson’s run in the White House and more specifically about some crazy love triangle that essentially ruined his presidency-was far more interesting than the book itself.

I gave up on it.

Then I read 40 pages of The Wonder by Emma Donoghue. If the name sounds familiar, it’s because she was the author of Room. I have that one on my shelf and intend to pick it up after I get through this one. So far, at least this is keeping my interest.

The Wonder is about a child who is fasting but somehow in perfect health and the nurse who is sent to examine her. The nurse, Lib, is full on skeptical and thinks the child is totally faking. She’s so mean and blunt. The book has her train of thought as she is the narrator and she’s just super bitchy and determined to make a liar out of this beautiful, spiritual, innocent, little girl.

The fact that I can give you that much information about the book shows that I’m actually engaged. I’m just hoping I can push through this start of a reading slump and finish a book.

OH! I’ve also been inching along in The Paper Magician. I can’t decide if I like it or not. Currently, I don’t hate it but I’m not sure I’m quite following the world we’re in. So we’ll see.

Slump Be Gone!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

