Yoga Flow!

I started working out not when I was on an actual track team or when I was being bullied for being the larger of my adorably petite or naturally slender friends but when I was in college.

Instead of gaining weight when I went away to school, I lost 20 pounds in the first semester. I didn’t really see it but I did start showing off my assets. Instead of long skirts, I wore tiny skirts. Instead of mens wide leg pants (because JNCO) I wore juniors low rise (WHY WAS THAT A THING!?) jeans. Suddenly, I had curves and I was starting to like them.

So in an effort to balance my drinking and smoking, I started working out with my roommate. She had been quite an athlete in High School but lost it in college. The school I attended for my first two years of college had these 4 to 6 week fitness related activities you could sign up for. My roommate and I did all of them. First it was Hip Hop, then it was Salsa (my favorite by far), Pilates, some weird guide to weights,, and Yoga.

Between that and my constant walking due to not having a license or car until I was 20; I discovered moving my body was fun for me. I actually enjoyed it. Even more so when I could do it without anyone watching me. (That’s a whole insecurity thing for another day)

By our second semester of my sophomore year in college; my roommate and I had quite the falling out. So I drank and I worked out and attempted to get through my classes. I discovered the fun of Tae Bo and started doing that and some insane number of crunches during lunch so I wouldn’t be in the café the same time she was.

Because I was one hell of a chain smoker and drinking was a daily thing. I was working out with little results beyond my legs getting more sculpted. When I returned home from school, I continued with Tae Bo and added in Pilates.

I would workout for an hour on week days and then work my full time job. I stayed pretty much the same for a couple years and then Yoga.

I forgot how much I enjoyed the act of getting my body into Yoga poses. For me, it had the same effect as a long walk does; I could clear my head and move my body at the same time.

I stuck with Yoga being my main “thing” for a year or so. I quit smoking because I found that I was winded walking up stair cases and hacking during forward folds. Somehow, I lost the routine of working out and for a few years it was more sporadic then routine.

Then I did The Firm workout, The Zip Trainer workout, P90X made an appearance. I loved FIT TV and I’d tune in to that and use their daily workouts as mine.

I lost weight. I was suddenly feeling healthier and sometimes not so much due to a list of ailments brought on by stress.

In more recent years, Blogilates and Tone It Up have become my favorite workouts to tune into. YouTube is a fantastic resource and guess what, it’s free!

Don’t get me wrong, I spend money on my fitness. I love these two particular programs so much, I own water bottles from Blogilates and both of the books. I actually met Cassey Ho at a book signing years ago and she is just as lovely in person as she is in her videos.

Currently, I’m in the midst of Tone It Up’s 8 week Bikini Challenge. They do it every year to get you ready for summer. The structure they have seems to work for me lately so I’m down for whatever challenge they throw at me.

Last week, they added a Beautiful Yoga Flow and I’m loving it so much. It’s kind of my favorite. I did it for the second time today and I love that it feels so much like a strength workout while stretching out my body.

I am trying to get myself back into a real workout routine. At one point, I worked out six days a week and I was sleeping and generally happy.

So! In an effort to keep finding ways to reduce stress, I am getting in my workouts. If you are a yoga fan-click that link and try it out. It’s fast paced and 15 minutes long. It’s just such a nice flow. I find myself relaxing into it as it goes–the entire point of yoga typically.

I have a feeling the more I stick to things like reading, moving, and perhaps even cooking and baking; the more I’ll be here updating.

I like that feeling.

Leave a Reply

