Dewey’s Updates!

I feel my hourly updates should get their own little home and thus, here it is!

Hour 1: Slightly distracted but did fall right back in The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I am IN LOVE with this book. It is the definition of “everyone is fighting a battle you know nothing about,” and it is beautiful. I like to think of myself as a thoughtful person. I think of what people are going through but! I also have those narcissistic moments when someone gives you a look and you instantly judge them for it. I feel like I can’t read this book and not be changed somehow. It’s that well done. I declare that I shall read anything Ms. Yoon chooses to share. I love her writing so. And I may have tweeted her something to that effect (Yep. I fangirled during hour 1). Now on to Hour 2 which will be a bit eaten up by my hair appointment but! I’m hoping to get in a little reading just the same.

Hour 2: Read maybe 3 pages. Gt myself dressed in workout gear (because at some point today I will take a break to work out) and did one of my most favorite things: got my hair done by my fabulous stylist, Mindy. Mini-challenge complete

Hour 3: Stopped to pick up beverages after my hair appointment at Dunks. Mom informed me when I got home that she spent the entire time reading her book so! she was my stand in for the readathon. Seriously, how cute is she? Mini-Challenge complete

Hour 4: Holy crap! Where did that hour go? I read a couple pages but mostly spent it playing with mini challenges because I do love them so. The hour four one is super fun, definitely have to think on it for a moment and then I can get a fun paragraph going for Natasha from The Sun is Also a Star and Heather from Panic. OK! Determined to read in hour 5! Mini Challenge Complete

Hour 5: According to Good Reads I am 25% through The Sun is Also a Star. Spent more of this hour checking in with friends and chitty chatting but! I did read and stay cuddled up in my book bubble for the most part. I like it! BTW love that this hour was referred to as the Bob Ross hour. Strong place in my heart for Bob Ross and his “happy little trees.” Posting my six word story here because the comments on Estella’s page are hating me: Hope knows no bounds through books. Mini- Challenge complete.

Hour 6: Little bit of reading but more cooking up lunch than anything else. I made Mom & I steak and veggies over brown rice and it was amazing. (check out my Instagram if you want to see it). Mini-Challenge Complete!

Hour 7: Making my way through The Sun is Also a Star and I’m in love with it. In love. I feel as though when I get to the last page I will be changed somehow. It’s also made me laugh out loud and gasp. Love when a book does that.

Hour 8: 54% through The Sun is Also a Star. I am determined to get through one book during this readathon. The goal was simply to complete one book and to get back into Hamilton. We shall see how that goes. There are plenty of hours left in this readathon after all annnnnnnnnd I still have energy. In fact, methinks it’s time for a work out. Did I discuss here yet how working out clears my head? Sometimes, I just do a few minutes, just so I know my body works. Other times, I’m so happy doing it I can just go until I can’t do any more moves with good form. I like it. It’s on the list of things that help to dissipate this anxiety I’ve developed since Dad passed. Mini-Challenge Complete!

Hour 9: Workout done! Watched a couple Booktube videos and a TIU Meal Prep video. Grabbing a shower and making some dinner and then back to my book I go. Woop Woop! Mini-Challenge Complete!

Hour 10: Man oh Man! These hours are flying on by. I believe I only opened my book this time. Made and ate dinner with the Momma and checked out some Instagram posts.

Hour 11: WOOOO! First hour since this morning I actually just sat in my book bubble and let me just say again how frikkin great this book is. Mini-Challenge Complete

Hour 12: Mid Event Survey Time!

1. What are you reading right now?
The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
2. How many books have you read so far?
Just this one, I haven’t completed any yet or read any other book.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
I am looking forward to finishing this and getting back into Hamilton
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
YES! I had a hair appointment which helped to eat up 2 hours. Then there’s the normal caregiver-ish duty of Mom wanted me to be the cook today so I made us lunch and dinner and we always eat meals together. Working out. A shower. The internet in general. Haha.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
That I have actually actively participated, even if I’m not blowing through books.
Mini-Challenge Complete!

And I am now 87% through The Sun is Also a Star. I have a feeling I will be sobbing at the end if it continues the way it is going. 😦

Hour 13: Finished The Sun is Also a Star and I am a just…in awe? I think that’s an accurate description. It was soooo good. SO GOOD. I had a moment where I was in tears and angry at the turn it had taken and then…OH! Oh to have hope again. LOVED IT SO MUCH. So! One book completed! Mini-Challenge Complete!

Hour 14: Spent some QT with Mom and our current binge watch, One Tree Hill. I’ve seen it all but she has not and she’s totally into the insanity. We’re in Season 3, which has what I call the Terrible Awful Episode that always makes me cry, that one is going to be a shock for her I’m sure.

Hour 15: Most of this hour was spent with Mom. And the rest diving back in Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow. If you do not know, this is the biography that Mr. Lin-Manuel Miranda randomly picked up on vacation and then Hamilton, the AHHHHMAZING musical became a thing in his head that he just had to create. I started it a few months ago but barely made a dent so I figured why not use a readathon to try and get into it again.

Hour 16: Read about 12 pages of Hamilton which puts me at 7%. Such a giant book but! it is really interesting. I am officially getting tired so, I am going to cozy up and see if I’m ready to sleep.

Hours 17 through Hour 24: Slept. Really slept. I did not wake up over and over or toss and turn. That is rare and lovely.

SO! I completed 1 book, started back into the chunker that is Hamilton, and completed 16:24 IG challenges and 11:24 mini-challenges. Sounds good to me!

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s Updates!

    • Definitely having fun! My Mom has actually been reading a lot today too so she feels like she’s participating too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

