Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

When you read you begin with ABC – The Sound of Music, Do Re Mi

That is the song that I woke up with this morning. Completely fitting for readathon day! And what a readathon day it shall be.

Today is Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon! This readathon starts at 8:00am wherever you are in the world (20 more minutes for me!) and goes for a complete 24 hour period.

During the readathon, there are little mini challenges that happen on Instagram, the Dewey’s blog, and twitter. The best part, you can drift in and out of readathon mode, if you want. You can do just a couple of hours or attempt for the long haul.

Now! Let’s do the Opening Survey, shall we?

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
I am reading from my home in Southern Maine 🙂
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
I am actually excited about all of them! The first book I’m focusing on is The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon which is just fantastic so far.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
I didn’t really pre-plan snacks. I look forward to my first of many cups of tea.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
Let’s see, I started to read when I was 4 and I haven’t stopped since. I get lost in used bookstores and love library sales. Currently, the place I feel most at peace has been my library so I’ve been borrowing a lot of books. At some point this year, I’m hoping to actually make a dent in the books I own so that come June and the next library sale, I’ll have somewhere to put any new finds.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
Last time, I feel like I didn’t actually set aside time for reading. I just kind of grabbed a book for a couple of hours. I spent more time looking at blogs then I did actually enjoying my book. I’m not sure if it was about the book or life at the time but! this time around I’m doing things differently.

Today, the only plan that will take me away from my various reading nooks is my hair appointment at 10:00am and other than that it’s all books all day! I want to check in every hour that I participate. I’m also doing the Instagram challenge. I really want to just devour books today so I think that will certainly help me enjoy the readathon this time around.

So! What am I reading?

I have a stack of books on loan from my library. They aren’t due back until the 16th of May but! I have a couple chunkers because when you set an intention to live in a book bubble all day, why not attack some chunkers? My TBR basically consists of the books I have on loan from the library and the books I have on my Currently Reading shelf on GoodReads. Here’s the actual list:

  • The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon]
  • Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow
  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kailing
  • Petticoat Affair by John Marsza
  • Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Illustrated Edition by J. K. Rowling
  • The Paper Magician

Of these, I am currently reading The Sun is Also a Star. I also started Hamilton and The Paper Magician and I’ve been actively reading HP a chapter at a time between books just because beautiful HP book.

All right! Just two more minutes to go so I am going to get myself cozy and get reading. See you in an hour!

Leave a Reply

