Mickey Waffle Obsessed!

Just a few weeks ago I traveled across the country to California and enjoyed a 4 day vacation with my bestie at non other than Disneyland. Yes, that’s right, Disneyland! It was by far the best vacation I’ve had and far too short. I am seriously considering relocating to the West Coast at some point in my life. So, gorgeous!

Any who, since we’ve been back we’ve been craving all the delicious food we had while we were there and no craving has been worse than the Mickey Waffle.

Have you tasted a Mickey waffle?
IMG_0306Not only is it completely adorable, it’s also absolutely delicious.

The texture is crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. The taste is just sweet but not too sweet and oh.my.gah. We ate one for breakfast every day we were there and have been craving them ever since. So I did what any curious craving baker does–I went on Pinterest.

I love Pinterest.  It’s made for people like me that love to collect recipes from anywhere and everywhere. I searched “Mickey Waffles” and boom, a recipe with ingredients I currently had at home popped up.

Now, I do not own a mickey shaped waffle maker, so I knew it wouldn’t “look” right. I do have a pretty fantastic waffle maker though, so  figured I may get the texture right. Personally, and I wish I had a cross-section picture of the waffles we ate at Disney, I think they use fresh vanilla and possible other spices in the waffle. The waffles have this coloring that isn’t that creamy blonde color a waffle typically have. Fresh vanilla is hella expensive though so I don’t have that readily available in my home. I do have some kick ass vanilla extract though (Spice Islands Madagascar Vanilla, SOOOOO Good!) so that’s what I used (and what this particular recipe called for).

I make waffles fairly often so I know my basics. I have to say, I have never whipped egg whites for a waffle before this one and woah, does it make a world of difference. Here’s how my waffle came out:

IMG_0375

Soooo pretty. It has just butter and powdered sugar on it. The waffle was beautiful and it tastes amazing. Light in texture, eggy and buttery. Just a tad sweet but not so much that it no longer feels like breakfast. Really, really good. Sadly, not a Mickey Waffle though. At least not the Disneyland ones.

I think the next time I try these, I’ll add more spice to the batter and see what happens. Maybe in playing around, I’ll end up with a more Mickey-esque waffle. The recipe is below for you to try on your own if you’d like. Please comment if you know of a Mickey Waffle recipe that tastes like the Mickey waffle at Paradise Pier in Disneyland orrrr have any ideas on spicing up this recipe.

Recipe from The Disney Chef

<b> Mickey Waffles (WDW)</b>

<I>Ingredients</I>
4 eggs, separated

1 – 2 tablespoons sugar

1 cup milk

¼ cup (half a stick) of butter or margarine, melted, cooled to room temp

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

<I>Instructions</I>

  1. Beat egg yolks in a large bowl until the sugar is thoroughly mixed and the yolks are thick and sunny colored.
  2. Add the milk, cooled melted butter, and vanilla extract and stir until combined.
  3. Add  flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix well, but be sure not to overmix (overmixed batter will be frothy with lots of bubbles). If the mixture is too thick, add more milk until the mixture resembles that of thick pudding.
  4. In a separate bowl, using a mixer, beat egg whites until stiff. Using a rubber spatula, gently fold the egg whites into the batter. DO NOT MIX. This will take a while, be patient.
  5. Pour batter into a waffle maker and bake as instructed for your waffle maker until golden brown. These will expand so use less batter than you normally would. I use scoop that’s about 1/4 of a cup and did one and a half scoops.
  6. Serve however you like your waffles. If you’re going for the “plain” Disney version, put a tiny bit of butter and a sprinkle of powdered sugar.

Makes 6 waffles

Leave a Reply

