Neighborly Goodness

I live in a small community full of neighbors. I do mean full. Each house has 2 to 4 people in it and we’re in close quarters. However, I really don’t know many of my neighbors names. We all wave and are courteous to each other. I know that the lady a street over has a dachshund that looks just like my Aunts old pup and she alllllways barks at me. I know that the woman across the street is best friends with the woman that lives in the house that faces the wrong way.

The one’s I do know are pretty fantastic though. George and his sister Jan live next door. She’s super active in all of the awesome trips the retirement community (yup, I live in a place that owns a retirement community) provides. I know Gary, he’s the resident handyman and used to work with my family eons ago. And of course, I know Doris.

Doris and her family are probably some of the nicest people I’ve ever met. She’s been our Avon lady for the past 20 years and her daughter is just good people. Now, one of the days Doris stopped by to drop of Avon, I was making Chicken Stuff.

Oh yeah, super specific name for a recipe right. Look, its a chicken casserole with stuffing on it and I named it when I was like 6, what do you expect. I was a pretty literal child.

I was making stuffing from scratch for the first time when Doris came over so we got to talking about casseroles and really easy recipes and she goes, “Oh yeah! We just made our favorite. It’s a cornbread pot pie casserole.” WHAT?!

She shared the cliff’s notes of the recipe and then said she’d be sure to share it with me. Sure enough, the next time Avon catalogs showed up at my house, so did this recipe. DSCN2822

Oh yeah! Today, being a full day off for me, I decided to go for it and let this be my new recipe of the month.

Let me just say, I made a lot of substitutions here. First up, I have butter in the house always. I love butter. I use it all the time. Thus, I did not go out and spend money on margarine, I used butter instead.
Chicken broth came courtesy of the lovely bouillon we keep in the pantry. No fancy homemade broth or the store bought liquid goodness.
I also am not a fan of canned vegetables, specifically the mixed ones. I hate, let me repeat, hate peas and green beans. Usually, that’s what’s in a can of mixed veggies. I went with the bag of frozen veggies, the steam fresh kind that always taste so good. It’s a little less expensive than fresh ones and what I wanted just didn’t look great.

The recipe instructions are pretty simple. You make a roux with flour and butter. Add your liquids and the cream cheese, which by the way, how genius is it to thicken this with a cream cheese with veggies and seasoning in it already!? Love it! Add your seasoning. Then you pop in your meats; chicken & ham. Last pop those veggies in there and let it cook for all of 5 minutes. It looked so amazing!

DSCN2823.JPG

This gets popped into a pan. I used a weird 13 x 7 ish pan. It’s a casserole dish we use a lot. and with all the ingredients I wanted to make sure I had enough room for the corn bread part!

On top of the stuffing you add a corn bread mix (I went with Krusteaz Southern Style), a little milk, and an egg all mixed up and happy. Drop it by the spoonful or if you’re like me, just throw it on and see how it goes.

Bake the whole thing in a 425 degree oven for about 25 minutes and boom, you’ve got dinner!

DSCN2826

So delicious and so flippin’ easy! We had it for both lunch and dinner today and still had a ton left. I’d say it could easily serve 6. You want to try this one!

Corny Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients
For the Filling

1 Tbsp Butter
3 Tbsps Flour
3/4 C Chicken Broth
1/2 C Milk
6 oz Veggie Cream Cheese (this is almost one tub of cream cheese)
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Pepper
6oz of Ham, diced
2 C Chicken, chopped
1 Bag of mixed veggies (I used Steam Fresh: Corn, Asparagus, and Carrots)

For the Topping
1 Pkg Corn Bread Mix
1 Egg, slightly beaten
1/3 C Milk

Let’s Cook!
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
Spray your favorite casserole dish, you want something at least 10″
Over medium heat, in a medium size pan (see the photo above for the pan I used), melt the butter.
Once melted, add the flour and stir together. Let the flour cook for about 3 minutes while stirring occasionally.
Add the chicken broth, milk, cream cheese, salt, and pepper. Cook for 5 minutes or until the cream cheese has incorporated with every thing else.
Add the chicken, ham, and vegetables. Cook for 5 to 7 minutes. Until just combined and thickened.
Pour mixture into your casserole dish.
In a medium sized bowl, mix the egg and milk into the corn bread mix. Take the mix and add by spoonful over the filling or just dump it evenly onto the filling, much like you would a crumble on an apple crisp.
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes uncovered or until the corn bread topping is golden brown and the filling is bubbling.
Allow to cool 5 minutes before serving.
Store leftovers covered in the refrigerator.

 

Next time I make this, I think I’m adding shredded cheese to the topping just for an added touch. Have fun and enjoy!

Erika

Leave a Reply

