It’s Flavor of the Month Time!

Hello and welcome to a new feature on this blog: THE FLAVOR OF THE MONTH! Woah, that was a little intense. I am excited though! This is all about sharing what I’ve made that you can get on my lovely little Etsy store or by subscribing to the Out of the Box sampler box.

This is the first month I’ve participated in the Out of the Box sampler and I was a little nervous to say the least. Looking at the companies in the box, I’m one of few people that specialize in eatables rather than beautiful bath products or candles. And I was going with a candy!?

Personally, I love fudge! I mean really, who doesn’t love fudge? I’m one of those people that has trouble walking away from the giant tables of fudge in candy shops. Oh, candy shops. They’re just so tempting. I’ve been known to buy a good 4 or 5 pounds of fudge at once just because I couldn’t decide on flavors.

A few years back, I started making my own. Now, in my family, my sister is the one that makes fudge. She makes this delicious, super sweet, chocolate fudge every year at Christmastime. I love it so much, I just never even thought to try making my own. Then I stumbled upon a “Quick and Easy Cake Batter Fudge” recipe and I had to try it. I love cake batter flavored anything and this recipe really was super simple (comment below if you’d like to see this recipe). It took all of 10 minutes and poof, I had fudge.

Next up, I attacked peanut butter fudge, and again stumbled upon a super easy recipe that has since become a request from family and friends. I’ve even had a few orders for it from co-workers, it’s that delicious.

Last year, I decided that my peanut butter fudge and my sisters chocolate fudge definitely curbed my sweet tooth but I am a lover of all things spicy. In my collections of recipes (because I do get them from everywhere) I discovered a spicy chocolate fudge and I was hooked. I had to make it!

On it’s surface, it’s a pretty standard fudge. Just some chocolate and evaporated milk, a little vanilla. All things you’re used to in a chocolate concoction. Then it gets fun!

DSCN2821.JPG

see that, right there. That’s cinnamon and a touch of cayenne. I like mine to have a bit of a kick so I pop a little more than it ask for in the recipe. The warmth from the cinnamon comes through in each bite and then the cayenne just leaves this little tingle on your tongue.

It’s perfect for winter because it just warms you a little bit with the spices while the chocolate gives you a lovely little hug. I love it!

IMG_4029

These are how my little samples came out. The bags were so small, I could quite get my business card attached but everyone did get a card. By the way, isn’t my logo adorable? My niece is quite the artist and created it for me. If I ever decide to have a store front, that logo will be how you find me.

IMG_4030

I like to make my fudge in 8×8 pans. In sets up with this little ridges on the edges that always taste delicious. I like to cut it up into smaller, more bite sized pieces. This particular fudge isn’t a soft fudge. It actually sets up pretty stiff and it will definitely dry out if you leave it out too long.

I love it! If you’d like to give it a try, go ahead and visit the store 🙂 FOTMJ will get you free shipping on an order placed this month.

Now, what am I going to make for next month’s box?

Erika

Leave a Reply

